add to wish list | library

15 of 16 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.

Reviews: Liszt: Sonata etc - Polina Leschenko

read discussion

Reviews: 2

Site review by Polly Nomial July 30, 2007
Performance:   Sonics:  
The text for this review has been moved to the new site. You can read it here:

Review by Avanticlassic July 6, 2007 (2 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
Polina Leschenko’s latest release for avanticlassic is without question her most significant to date. For the first time Polina records warhorses of the classical repertory. With the Liszt Sonata in B minor; Busoni’s Transcription of the Chaconne (J.S. Bach); the Waltz from Faust (Gounod/Liszt); and a marvellous Prelude and fugue in A minor (J.S. Bach/Liszt), Polina, at only 25, presents a truly thrilling program.

Polina’s virtuosity is again displayed at its very best. Her vision of the works will undoubtedly provoke many reactions. Polina Leschenko is not a consensual artist. She is a highly individual voice among today’s greatest pianists.

For those who consider the art of interpretation as a quest for a musical truth that is not cast in stone but, on the contrary, is a domain for imagination, respect and above all an unequalled means to communicate the deepest feelings, this record is unmissable.

Her incredible involvement in these works, her absolute knowledge of the counterpoint, her total musical command, her true poetic moments as well as her furies will certainly not leave anybody unmoved.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no