add to wish list | library

3 of 3 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.
  Eighty Eights -
  The Great Jazz Trio: Someday My Prince Will Come
  "Someday My Prince Will Come"

The Great Jazz Trio
Track listing:
  1. Caravan
2. Softly as in a Morning Sunrise
3. Moose the Mooche
4. A Child Is Born
5. Satin Doll
6. Someday My Prince Will Come
7. The Shadow of Your Smile
8. Long Ago and Far Away
9. You'd Be So Nice to Come Home to
10. Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
Recording type:
Recording info:
  Recorded at Avatar Studio, New York on May 12 and 13, 2002 except "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes" recorded at Sony Music Studios TOKYO on August 1, 2003

delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Related titles: 7 show all

Reviews: 1

Review by JW September 17, 2005 (5 of 5 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
Immediate. Live. Lively. Dynamic. Some of the best sound SA-CD can produce. Hank Jones (p), Richard Davis (b) and Elvin Jones (dr) are swinging hard on the opening track 'Caravan'. The soundstage choices made here are slightly off, drums hard left and bass and piano more or less center. This surprised me a little, as this is supposed to be an audiophile disc. But it 'rights' itself again on the second track. Hmmm.... This is piano trio at its best of course. I mean, look at the line-up. Standards played as standards ought to be played by the best in the biz - but with a twist. You feel you are right there with the band. The perspective is up close. Everyone gets lots of solo time (very cool bowed bass on 'Moose The Mooch' - track 3). 'Satin Doll' is played in a different key on this disc and it's more muted than I am accustomed to, with lots of white space between the notes and well delineated solo outings. The title track is another opportunity for every band member to solo and improvise. This makes the well known tune very unpredictable. I like the way these standards have been treated. The entire disc displays a nice mix between well known melodies and improvisational solo's.


01. Caravan * (Duke Ellington, Juan Tizol / EMI Mills Music Inc Old Account)
02. Softly as in a Morning Sunrise (Sigmund Romberg / Warner Bros. Inc)
03. Moose the Mooche (Charlie Parker / Atlantic Music Corp.)
04. A Child Is Born (Thad Jones / D'Accord Music Inc.)
05. Satin Doll (Duke Ellington, Billy Strayhorn / Tempo Music Inc.)
06. Someday My Prince Will Come (Frank Churchill / Public Domain)
07. The Shadow of Your Smile (Johnny Mandel / EMI Miller Catalog Inc.)
08. Long Ago and Far Away (Ralph Rainger, Leo Robin / Famous Music Corp.)
09. You'd Be So Nice to Come Home to (Cole Porter / Chappell Co. Inc)
10. Smoke Gets in Your Eyes (Jerome Kern / Universal Polygram

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no