add to wish list | library

3 of 3 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.

Reviews: Bach: Sonatas for violin solo - Masayuki Kino

Reviews: 1

Review by fiddlefan March 22, 2012 (5 of 6 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
The six solo works of Bach form an essential part of the violin repertoire. The 3 Partitas are based on traditional dance movements and the 3 sonatas on the pure movement form, each sonata having a fugue as it's second movement. The challenge to the violinist includes making a convincing interpretation of works which have very few directions from the composer and can not be played as written due to the chords which need to be split in arpeggio fashion which is left to the discretion of the performer.
I find Kino's performance of the sonatas particularly convincing. The 3 and 4 note chords are played together with minimal splitting, giving the works quite a keyboard feel to them. His tuning is very well tempered and the tone very even over the 4 strings. I feel I am listening to Bach rather than fantastic violin playing and for that reason favour this set over many other fine performances.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no