add to wish list | library

26 of 26 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.
  Sam Cooke: Portrait of a Legend 1951-1964
  "Portrait of a Legend 1951-1964"

Sam Cooke
Track listing:
  1. Touch the Hem of His Garment
2. Lovable
3. You Send Me
4. Only Sixteen
5. (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons
6. Just For You
7. Win Your Love For Me
8. Everybody Loves to Cha Cha Cha
9. I'll Come Running Back to You
10. You Were Made For Me
11. Sad Mood
12. Cupid
13. (What a) Wonderful World
14. Chain Gang
15. Summertime
16. Little Red Rooster
17. Bring it on Home to Me
18. Nothing Can Change This Love
19. Sugar Dumpling
20. (Ain't That) Good News
21. Meet Me at Mary's Place
22. Twistin' the Night Away
23. Shake
24. Tennesse Waltz
25. Another Saturday Night
26. Good Times
27. Having a Party
28. That's Where It's At
29. A Change is Gonna Come
30. Jesus Gave Me Water
Recording type:
Recording info:
  Restoration Producers: Jody H. Klein & Teri Landi
Analog to Digital Transfers: Teri Landi, Rick Essig (The Master Cutting Room) & Mick Gochanour (MixUp NYC)
Sound Restoration & Archive Coordination: Steve Rosenthal (The Magic Shop)
Mastering: Bob Ludwig (Gateway Mastering & DVD)
DSD Engineer: Gus Skinas
DSD Assistant Engineer: Hiroyuki Komuro
Session Research: Maria Papazahariou
Audio Production Coordinator: Laura Wilson
Assistant Engineers: Matt Boynton, Tom Camuso, Ben Bailes

delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Related titles: 7 show all

Reviews: 7 show all

Review by Wayward December 25, 2005 (9 of 9 found this review helpful)
Buyer beware - there is currently a Non-SACD version of this title on storeshelfs. Both apparently have the UPC code of 92642.
The SACD version is housed in a digipak case whereas the Non-SACD version comes in a jewel case.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Tom June 25, 2003 (4 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This is a bargain--if you like his music. 30 cuts, over 80 minutes of music, and 25+ pages of liner notes.

This brings back childhood memories. It's very well recorded. I wasn't familar with many cuts, but I am now. I've listened to this album about 5 times over he past week.

Highly recommended.

Aug. 24 Update: I bought both Keep Moving On and Portrait. Both have a lot of music and very few cuts in common. However, after owning these albums for a couple months, I clearly prefer Portraitbut am still glad I bought both. Both albums are highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Beck January 5, 2012 (2 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Stellar collection from possibly the greatest male vocalist ever. What more is there to say? Quality is excellent as well. One of my favourite SACD titles period. Remastering is phenomenal. I had an old 80s Sam Cooke Man and His Music collection which literally sounds like AM radio - one of my worst CDs ever so this release was an eye-opener.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no