add to wish list | library

2 of 2 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.
  Foa Records -
  Lionel Hampton: Mack The Knife
  "Mack The Knife"

Lionel Hampton
Ray Brown
Track listing:
  1. Melody Lingers On (Irving Berlin)
2. Sleepy Time Down South (Leon & Otis Rene)
3. Rose Room (Art Hickman)
4. One For Gates (Ray Brown)
5. Bye Bye Blues (Fred Hamm / Dave Bennett)
6. Untitled (Ray Brown)
7. Mack The Knife (Kurt Weill)
8. H & R Blues (Ray Brown)
Recording type:
Recording info:

delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Related titles: 4

Reviews: 1

Review by Barb January 6, 2008 (3 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
L. Hampton vib, R. Brown b, G. Harris p, G. Tate ds, R. Eschete g, FOA 1989.
This is another disc of Ray-Brown-music (three of the eight tracks were composed by him), although Lionel Hampton is written on the cover. His long time fellow pianist Gene Harris is there, too and so the interplay of the band is wonderful. They are playing bluesy swinging straight ahead jazz and they are playing as relaxed as only real masters can. Hampton plays some fantastic solos but there`s some nice soloing by the others, too.
The sound is very good, rich of colour, very good soundstage and imaging, air for the instruments to breath, dynamic, brilliant.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no