add to wish list | library

78 of 78 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.
  882 301-2
  The Rolling Stones: Beggars Banquet
  "Beggars Banquet"

The Rolling Stones
Track listing:
  1. Sympathy for the Devil
2. No Expectations
3. Dear Doctor
4. Parachute Woman
5. Jigsaw Puzzle
6. Street Fighting Man
7. Prodigal Son
8. Stray Cat Blues
9. Factory Girl
10. Salt of the Earth
Recording type:
Recording info:

delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Related titles: 23 show all

Reviews: 9 show all

Review by cordobaman January 20, 2013 (5 of 5 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
It used to be that I would only purchase multi-channel SACDs. This title was recommended to me by my brother, who touts it as his favorite album (performance-wise) and probably listens to it via cassette tape. So I bought it. WOW, this has become one of my go to demo discs. The sound of the instruments is absolutely raw, realistic and detailed. You can hear fingers sliding to frets. You can hear hammers tapping piano strings. The sound stage to so wide and deep I cannot imaging a better stereo sound. Can you tell I like this one?!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by JW September 30, 2004 (5 of 5 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Sympathy For The Devil is one of my favorite Stones tunes. I like the music and the lyrics and just laugh my evil laugh to paraphrase a relatively well know reviewer. This great album is straight ahead rock. The guitar work on this album is particularly good.

When they first came out I bought 10 of the ABKCO discs but I never got around to write something about them. I'll try and rate them sonically and in comparison to each other. This is early Stones and therefore it bears the hallmark of the times in the way they sound in the studio (or live) and by the nature of the songs. Bluesy, Beatle-like but infused with real rock and attitude initially, to more and more of their signature sound as they progress over the years and hone their craft. Overall these ABCKO series are a tremendous achievement, but they cannot touch many of the modern DSD recorded SACD's or even the sound quality of Living Stereo SACD's or some of the Japanese Miles Davis titles. 'Let it Bleed' and 'Beggars Banguet' come closest. So do you rate them in comparison to other SACD's regardless of age, or do you rate them on their own merits. I guess I have done a little bit of both. There are many more angles with which to review these titles, I fully realise that. I chose this one for these pages.

So here is my list ranked by audio quality: (P=Performance. S=Sonics)
1) Let It Bleed (P5,S4)
2) Beggars Banguet (P5,S4)
3) 12x5 (P3,S3)
4) Out of Our Heads (P3,S3)
4) Aftermath (P4,S3)
5) Between the Buttons (P5,S2)
5) December's Children (P5,S2)
5) Their Satanic Majesties Request (P4,S2)
6) Get Yer Ya-Ya's out (P5,S1)

I also bought Hot Rocks, but that is a compilation which reflects the variety of recordings it was based on, so did not feature it here.

Some listening notes to back this up:
1) One of the most modern sounding recordings of the lot. This one does not have the 'we are playing in an empty oil drum' sound from say a 'Buttons..'. In addition to its desert island disc musical quality, the sound is pretty amazing. Of the you-are-there variety.
2) Close second. Somewhat lower recording level than some of the others. Remarkably wide soundstage on the opening numbers. Sounds come from outside the speakers. None of the others display this.
3) Nice center image with clear left/right seperation. This is one bluesy album.
4) Both display pinched and somewhat hard treble.
5) All of these have this 'barrel' sound. It's not so bad, but it sounds really dated. On DC the live track "Route 66' sounds pretty bad, worse even than the fantastic live album that is Ya-Ya's. Satanic Majesty is a psychedelic album. This is really interesting music and with 21st century ears not as revolutionary and therefore perhaps people can be more appreciative.
6) Great music, great atmosphere, bluesy rock, nice weight to the bass, but there is a huge blanket smothering the sound.

Hopefully we can look forward to more Stones. I would like to complete this collection with their later works.


Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by zobalob August 18, 2007 (5 of 6 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Excellent sonics, well worth hunting down, (it's been reported on other forums that the Stones SACDs are going out of print). Please ignore the review above, there are no 5.1 tracks here, it's a stereo only hybrid SACD, like all the others in the ABKO series, you can tell them by the digipak. This was always one of the Stones' better recorded albums and it shows. Some of the earlier albums were recorded very poorly, even considering the available technology at the time, but this sounds good.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no