add to wish list | library

29 of 30 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.
  882 304-2
  The Rolling Stones: Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out
  "Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out"

The Rolling Stones
Track listing:
  1. Jumpin' Jack Flash
2. Carol
3. Stray Cat Blues
4. Love in Vain
5. Midnight Rambler
6. Sympathy for the Devil
7. Live With Me
8. Little Queenie
9. Honky Tonk Women
10. Street Fighting Man
Recording type:
Recording info:

read discussion | delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Related titles: 22 show all

Reviews: 5 show all

Review by JW September 30, 2004 (3 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
What a blast from the past. Great live rock album with dubious sonics. I really like the way Jagger sings Midnight Rambler.

When they first came out I bought 10 of the ABKCO discs but I never got around to write something about them. I'll try and rate them sonically and in comparison to each other. This is early Stones and therefore it bears the hallmark of the times in the way they sound in the studio (or live) and by the nature of the songs. Bluesy, Beatle-like but infused with real rock and attitude initially, to more and more of their signature sound as they progress over the years and hone their craft. Overall these ABCKO series are a tremendous achievement, but they cannot touch many of the modern DSD recorded SACD's or even the sound quality of Living Stereo SACD's or some of the Japanese Miles Davis titles. 'Let it Bleed' and 'Beggars Banguet' come closest. So do you rate them in comparison to other SACD's regardless of age, or do you rate them on their own merits. I guess I have done a little bit of both. There are many more angles with which to review these titles, I fully realise that. I chose this one for these pages.

So here is my list ranked by audio quality: (P=Performance. S=Sonics)
1) Let It Bleed (P5,S4)
2) Beggars Banguet (P5,S4)
3) 12x5 (P3,S3)
4) Out of Our Heads (P3,S3)
4) Aftermath (P4,S3)
5) Between the Buttons (P5,S2)
5) December's Children (P5,S2)
5) Their Satanic Majesties Request (P4,S2)
6) Get Yer Ya-Ya's out (P5,S1)

I also bought Hot Rocks, but that is a compilation which reflects the variety of recordings it was based on, so did not feature it here.

Some listening notes to back this up:
1) One of the most modern sounding recordings of the lot. This one does not have the 'we are playing in an empty oil drum' sound from say a 'Buttons..'. In addition to its desert island disc musical quality, the sound is pretty amazing. Of the you-are-there variety.
2) Close second. Somewhat lower recording level than some of the others. Remarkably wide soundstage on the opening numbers. Sounds come from outside the speakers. None of the others display this.
3) Nice center image with clear left/right seperation. This is one bluesy album.
4) Both display pinched and somewhat hard treble.
5) All of these have this 'barrel' sound. It's not so bad, but it sounds really dated. On DC the live track "Route 66' sounds pretty bad, worse even than the fantastic live album that is Ya-Ya's. Satanic Majesty is a psychedelic album. This is really interesting music and with 21st century ears not as revolutionary and therefore perhaps people can be more appreciative.
6) Great music, great atmosphere, bluesy rock, nice weight to the bass, but there is a huge blanket smothering the sound.

Hopefully we can look forward to more Stones. I would like to complete this collection with their later works.


Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by madisonears December 7, 2006 (2 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
A unique, if somewhat artificial, documentation of what the Stones were capable of in a live format back in the 70's. These songs have a rawness, an almost evil energy, that they don't possess in their studio versions, and there are a couple songs here that the Stones have never released from the studio but perform at almost every concert.

The sound is bad, even for 70's pop technology, but it's not so bad that it merits only one star. Compare it to other live concert recordings of the period, at it's actually just below average quality. (I sat through many concerts that sounded worse while they were being performed, due to crappy, cavernous venues and misguided equipment and EQ selections.) My theory is that the sound was made intentionally bad because the original concert recordings needed to be doctored and amended in the studio. When the producers realized they couldn't make the altered content sound identical to the live stuff with very good resolution, they blurred the master mixes to obscure the corrections. The Stones were probably so messed up during performances that they couldn't get through an entire song without some glaring mistake which required post-concert doctoring. This SACD is a slight improvement over the already available CD, but no amount of remastering will ever make this sound any better.

The sole purpose of a live concert recording should be to capture something, the essence of a performance, which differentiates it from what is already available from studio recordings. The goal is not to get the best sound (although it sometimes works out that way, but certainly not here) or even the most accurate performance of written songs, but to get to the elemental level of an artist's abilities to entertain and communicate with a living audience. The spirit of the Stones' music is abundant here, captured in a way quite unlike what is normally obtained in the studio.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by progboy December 31, 2012 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
The Rolling Stones - Get Yer Ya-Ya's Out SACD

Lots of controversy and speculation on this album over the years has music historians and critics still very much split on opinion. Some say this was the greatest live album ever...while others shutter at the fact and cite the studio overdubs as a way to mask and hide the sloppy live playing of a very drunk and stoned band on the world stage.....well the last part I think might be kind of true but regardless this album is a very cool piece of Rolling Stones history and IMHO a very worth live album to own.

The song selection is quite impressive and contains some of the more popular Stones tunes of the day including a great version of Midnight Rambler and Jumpin' Jack Flash. Musically (even if corrected in the studio later) the band were tight and sounded anything but sloppy live and as you would expect carries a nice sense of energy and a live vibe to the music.

This is of course one of the Stone's ABKCO's Hybrid SACD releases that got the royal treatment back in 2002. Sonically this disc is not as good as some of the other earlier studio albums on SACD , but having said that in no way should it detract from you enjoying this album in Super Audio 2 Channel format.

I would say that sonically this is just flat....and not what you would or have come to expect from ABKCO or the SACD format and I certainly was expecting more out of this package. But having said this about the sound it is NOT bad or fact there are some pretty good moments as well like the drumming on Jumpin' Jack Flash (if you listen you will hear a pretty good definition) or the left guitar speaker on "Carol"...again might be in studio overdubs but either way i think you just need to sit back and listen to this album......

I really like this album and think the SACD is worth picking long as you dont pay a ton for it......

Definitely not one of the signature discs to show off your SACD player ....but a very good live album to enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no